D&D, the return to popularity, the future of the hobby and it’s impact on society.

Readers of this blog know that I have a special place in my heart for this game, and Iam not alone. For decades now this game has brought hours, and years of enjoyment to players all over the world. My longest game lasted almost six years. It has spawned countless novels, video games,movies and imitators. 

Originally published by Gary Gygax and Dave Arneson in 1974, Dungeons and Dragons took the world by storm. It has gone through several revisions and additions over the years and is now in its 5th edition. While it’s popularity has waned over the years, recently it has made a major comeback. 

Wizards of the coast Gained control of the property in 1997 and has done a stellar job of keeping it alive as a hobby. You can find a plethora of resources at their website. The online community has also added so much content to the game over the years that to comment extensively on it would require a series of books all by itself.

That community of players and fans is what makes this game so great, and I would credit the popularity of social media with a large bit of the responsibility for the games persistence. It is a social game after all, and it isn’t surprising that the popularity of RPGs as a whole has increased with the use of social media sites like Facebook, twitter and Reddit.


As the hobby grows and more people are able to take part through resources like roll 20 and online shows like critical role, it’s clear that this a past time that has a bright and exciting future.

I first experienced the game in eighth grade, my brothers friend brought the game over for them to play one night and they were nice enough to let me join. I created an elven fighter and I remember that powerful moment of using my halberd to kill my first kobold. Yes I got my first crit that night and yes it was possibly the coolest moment I had playing the game to this day ( not that I haven’t had some amazing moments but there is nothing like your first).

That experience stuck with me, it led me down this path, and now I have a blog where I get to write about one of my favorite things in life. There are so many stories like mine and that’s one of the great things this game brings to people, I still talk about past games with friends as if we actually did all the cool stuff that happened in those old games, because in a way… we did. Sure it’s a game and sure it’s fiction but the friendship and camaraderie are absolutely real. I couldn’t begin to tell you what is in store for the game, but I can tell you that as long as it means as much to other people as it does to me… it is going to be around for a long… long time.


What are your thoughts? How did you get into the game and why do you play? What does this amazing hobby mean to you?

One thought on “D&D, the return to popularity, the future of the hobby and it’s impact on society.

Add yours

  1. Before I started seriously and regularly playing tabletop RPG’s, I was very into video games. Grew up with final fantasy games and other console RPGs, as well as MMOs/WoW.

    After a while into young adulthood, I just ran out of enthusiasm for video games and stopped playing them. It was a lonely hobby, and I wanted to go out and do stuff with other people in real life. So I started getting out more, and for the most part just making terrible life decisions. (Substance abuse, getting in relationships with shitty people).

    I picked up D&D at a point in life when I was leaving a long-term relationship, sobering up and trying to remember what I really enjoyed while I was on my own. I started buying video games again but none of them really did it for me. They weren’t as fun to play as the old ones, and I was just bored with them. MMOs seemed like a hollow, unsatisfying substitute for social interaction. It left a lingering void in me for gaming entertainment.

    So I went to a random D&D meetup at a bar. I lucked out by picking an awesome meetup group to sign up for. The DM was the CEO of a terrain/miniatures company and put together an extremely well-produced one-shot that lasted well into the night. Afterward, I realized that this particular activity was a thousand times more fun and gratifying than video gaming. (Because it is. And video games are a little bit watered down and lame compared to tabletop RPGs IMO.) So I stuck with it.

    Learned how to DM, started a group with some people I met a local bar. They loved it. I’m in a long-term relationship with one of them, and she comes with me to conventions and stuff. Still playing with various groups, and thrilled to see this game surging in popularity as of late.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

